Important New Changes from the Department of Driver and Vehicle Services
Nighttime Driving Limitation.
For the first six months of licensure: Driving is prohibited midnight – 5:00 a.m. The nighttime limitation is lifted after the first six months of licensure.
Exemption: Driving when accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older; driving between home and a place of employment; driving to and from home and a school event for which the school has not provided transportation; driving for employment purposes.
For the first six months of licensure: Only one passenger under the age of 20 is permitted, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
For the second six months of licensure: No more than three passengers under the age of 20 are permitted, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
Exemption: Passengers under age 20 who are members of the driver’s immediate family are permitted.
Cell Phone and Texting Restrictions
It is illegal for drivers under the age of 18 to use a cellular/wireless phone, whether hand-held or hands-free (except for 911 in an emergency). A new law has made it illegal for drivers of all ages to compose, read, or sent text messages or access the internet on a wireless while on the road.
Drinking and Driving
It is illegal for a person under age 21 to drive after consuming any amount of alcohol. Consequences for underage drinking and driving are loss of license for at least 30 days and court fines.
Teen drivers with a provisional license whose driving privileges are revoked from a crash or alcohol/controlled substance related violation cannot regain license until age 18.
Permit and Road Test Fees for Third Tests
Repeat Permit Exam Fee: $10 for third and subsequent written test after failing first two tests.
Repeat Road Test Fee: $20.00 for third and subsequent written test after failing the first two tests.
(Reference: Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 171.13)
The statute was changed to make instruction permits valid for two years, instead of one, effective with applications accepted on or after July 15, 2005.
(Reference: Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 171.05)
Drivers License Fees
Provisional License Fee: $17.25
Upgrade fee from Provisional License to an under 21 license: $22.75 (or $19.25 if driving record is clear).
Regular Class D License Fee: $26.25